The Order of the Dark Rose by P. H. Solomon

Meet Manny, an arch-mage who can handle anything. Unless he’s cursed, lost his job and facing a hidden nemesis. Dangers circle like vultures. Nothing an arch-mage can’t handle. Unless the curse limits how much magic he can use or kills him outright. Can Manny survive long enough to break his curse? Or will the arch-mage’s hidden foe escape him?

The Order of the Dark Rose follows a disgraced arch-mage who joins forces with an inexperienced sidekick to investigate magical mysteries. This debut novel weaves a fresh take on epic fantasy in a gaslamp setting where “magical world-building and brilliant characters” twist into the tale of a damaged hero who matches wits with a mysterious magical mastermind.

Arch-mage Manny Mandeheim fell under a curse, watched his fiancé die, and then lost his job as a spy. What’s an unemployed arch-mage to do? Start his own magical investigation service while he works to clear his good name and avenge his lost love.

With his very un-magical partner, Wish Ackford, Manny discovers the menace of a conspiracy looming behind his curse. But the limitations from the hex leave him at a distinct disadvantage as he and Wish investigate.

Assassins lurk at every corner or in every tram car. The threat of an dangerous mastermind with murky intentions lingers just out of sight. A questionable source offers the hint of a secret order hounding Manny’s footsteps. A murder leads to a wrenching discovery.

“Magical world-building, brilliant characters, amazing, leaves you craving more, sleight of hand story” – Reviews from Readers Favorite

Click the BUY Now button at the top to enter this high concept world of magic and fantasy to discover more about Manny and Wish.

This is Volume 1 of The Cursed Mage Case Files.
The Changeling Incident – a prequel misadventure of The Cursed Mage Case Files already published.
Future releases include:
The Unseen Hand, Volume 2 of The Cursed Mage Case Files (late summer 2022 release – still a fluid date)
The Nine Jewel Heist, Volume 3 of The Cursed Mage Case Files (fall of 2022 release – very fluid date)
At least three more novel – length books are planned for this series as well as a possible anthology of minor cases and a few more prequel short cases and adventures.

Author’s note: this series is a Gaslamp Fantasy set in an alternate world all its own. It contains elements of steampunk, private detective mystery, espionage, urban fantasy, and magic realism as a mashup into a high concept world of magic and intrigue. While Manny and Wish are characters with a strong nod toward Holmes and Watson, the cases do not always flow the same way. For more insight into these characters and their world of magic, check the author’s series webpage for a growing list of supplemental material.

List of categories where this book is found:
Paranormal & Urban Fantasy, Magical Realism, Fantasy Adventure Fiction, Dragons & Mythical Creatures Fantasy, Gaslamp Fantasy, Steampunk Science Fiction, Movie & Game Tie-In, and Epic Fantasy.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Order of the Dark Rose by P. H. Solomon”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *